Nicknames…

01May10

When I was younger, I had the nickname “tulip.”

Tulip

I’m not exactly sure why but still, it was a cute nickname. Anyway, I often wonder why nicknames exist? This got me thinking, and I came up with a few things. One of them was that perhaps the nickname endears the nicknamed to the nicknamer, sort of like a pet name. Another reason I could think of was that in some cases, nicknames are easier to remember, especially if you have a very common name like Sarah or Rebecca. (I’m still not sure if Bramble is a common name though…) In other cases, I suppose it could be possible that some names are difficult to pronounce, and the nickname is easier to pronounce. In any case, I think nicknames are rather interesting.

Enjoy the warm weather!

Bramble (aka tulip)

No Responses Yet to “Nicknames…”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

