Respect?

02Jul13

Hello everyone!

I’ve been busy lately as well as abroad, but I’m back now. Anyway, I found that for me at least, it’s really hard to give people any respect when they don’t give me any or if I don’t think they are deserving of it, and it’s even harder when they are not around and I’m talking about them to other people.

I don’t think it’s nice at all to call people names behind their back or to refer to them in a disrespectful way. In most cultures, you aren’t generally supposed to address or refer to older people by their first names unless you are told otherwise. For example, many Hebrew teachers are addressed by their first names. This is how their culture generally works.

In the same way, it isn’t generally a good thing to speak badly about someone behind their back, and not nice to use bad expletives when referring to them either. From time to time, people need to vent, but if one refers to them in a way that makes it ambiguous as to who it is they are referring to, I think it is better in many cases, especially if you are the only person who knows this person, and it’s unlikely that anyone else might meet this person. This lets you talk about something that bothering you without changing what other people think about that person. This can be good if you know what is bothering you is like a pet peeve or doesn’t hurt other people in some way. Sometimes, it is also possible that you are the only one who perceives that problem in that particular way. It is also possible that your perception may be wrong or biased.

What if the person is just too “stupid?” In many cases, if I think a person is really stupid, I’m less inclined to give them any respect and more inclined to give them a hard time both in person and behind their back. I think thought that intelligence and smarts can be broken down into multiple areas. Like, there are people who completely lack any domestic smarts but they have a lot of academic smarts in a specific field. I also think that different smarts and intelligences can be cultivated, but of course, there are people who learn specific things faster than others and people who have a really hard time learning certain things. It’s the way people are. Because of this, I think it is better not just to say that a person is stupid or dumb but just to say that they are doing something that isn’t so smart or question why they are doing what they are doing that way.

I think that there will always be people who are really stuck in their ways or take no criticism. While we can often inform people who want to change about their missteps. For things that are hard to change, often we can let them know once, then stand back and let them work out the issue themselves or help them if they so request it. In the end, if nothing changes, I think we have to try to see what we can do ourselves to make the best of it so that we can cope with it. I guess that’s just the way life is.

Anyway, I hope you all have a good day!

Bramble

Secrets?

Secrets?

No Responses Yet to “Respect?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

